The construction of the palace and park ensemble of TsarskoyeSelowas dedicated to Russian victory over Sweden and the construction of Saint Petersburg as the capital of the Russian state. For two centuriesTsarskoyeSelo was a grand imperial summer residence, the construction of which was a matter of state importance and involved departments of the government. After the October Revolution of 1917 the palace and park ensemble was turned into a museum and the new authorities took over the best buildings in the town as educational and health establishments for children. TsarskoeSelo Palace and Park ensemble is an excellent monument of the world architecture and landscape art of the XVIII – XIX centuries. Big Tsarskoselsky Palace (Catherine Palace) is the centre of the park-and-museum ensemble, a splendid example of the Russian Baroque. The Great hall and the Golden Suit of the ceremonial rooms are adorned with a luxury of decoration. The world-famous Amber Room is a gem of the museum. More than a hundred historical monuments are scattered across the Catherine and Alexander Parks that have a joint area of 300 hectares: there are grand palaces and intimate pavilions, bridges and marble monuments, and also exotic structures imitating Gothic, Turkish and Chinese architecture that invest little corners of the parks with a romantic atmosphere. The museum offers opportunity for holding conferences, congress opening and closing ceremonies, symposia, training seminars, business visits, presentations, celebrations, and other cultural programs in the halls of the Catherine Palace, Catherine and Alexander parks pavilions.
Public transport stop (540 m)